Homemade Granola

Well, it’s about time.  I always say I am going to make my own granola and I never do because I always think it’s too time consuming or I’m just lazy or something!  Well my friend, Larissa, suggested that I try out Ellie Krieger from the food network’s recipe.  I love Ellie Krieger and she has some great recipes, so that is just what I did!  However, I did make some adjustments!

Before going into the oven.

Homemade Granola

  • 3 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup unsalted raw walnuts, chopped
  • 1/2 cup unsalted almonds, chopped
  • 1/2 cup unsalted pecans, chopped
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup unsalted sunflower kernels
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp + cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup + Pure Maple Syrup

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.

In a medium bowl combine the oats, nuts/seeds, maple syrup, cinnamon, vanilla, & salt.  Spread the mixture evenly onto baking sheet and bake until golden brown about 20-30 minutes.  Let cool completely and store in the refrigerator in an airtight container.

Very tasty.  As it came out of the oven, I immediately ate it over vanilla frozen yogurt.  My only, tiny, tiny complaint about this granola is that it did not clump.  I do enjoy clumpy granola and I have no idea how to make it clump!  Does anyone have any good clumping tips??

Wait, wait, wait…GRANOLA MAKING TAKE TWO…

I love peanut butter and I really wanted another go at making my granola clump so therefore I decided to try making Peanut Butter Granola!

Check out those clumps!

Well this combination definitely clumped better!

Peanut Butter Granola

  • 1/3 cup peanut butter (I used Natural Creamy Peanut Butter)
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 3 cups of oats
  • 1/2-1 cup of chopped unsalted peanuts
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In medium sized pot, melt the peanut butter and butter together over medium-low heat.  Add the honey, salt, vanilla extract.  Cook until creamy and heated throughout being careful not to burn the mixture.  Add the Oats and chopped peanuts.  Mix together until the oats are coated with mixture.  Pour out onto ungreased baking sheet.  Spread out mixture evenly.  NOW…this is what I think helped to clump the granola…

Tip #1 for making clumpy granola: Using your hands, press the granola down–kind of like you are making one gigantic cookie.  You can lightly oil your hands to help the granola from sticking to your fingers.

Bake granola for about 10 minutes…keeping a very careful eye on it!  It is very easy to burn!

Tip #2 for making clumpy granola: When the granola comes out of the oven, place something heavy on top of the baking sheet to press granola down as it cools.  This will help to create big clumps that you can break down into smaller clumps!  I had an identical baking sheet that I placed right on top of the other and I placed bottles of wine on top of the baking sheet to push pressure down on the granola.  You can of course be creative and come up with your own pressure concoction!

7 responses to “Homemade Granola

  1. haha after i made it the first time i noticed too it didnt clump! but i like mine dry so it was okay! god luck on your last exam today too! I recently tried a granola recipe with crasins and almonds but i modified it alot and added the pumpkin and sun flower seeds toasted and it was so good but it had a lot of sugar/ syrup that i had to make so it made it more chewy instead of crunchy

  2. I’ve found it clumps better if you physically form the clumps before baking.

  3. I LOVE homemade granola. I need to make some as soon as I get home tomorrow :)

  4. love homemade granola too! and i love pb too! perfect combo :)

  5. yummooo- hope there is some left when I get home!

  6. I like your idea of peanut butter granola.
    I make a few great no-oil granolas. Try them out!

    Maple-Pecan Granola With Dried Cherries and Blueberries:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/04/28/michael%e2%80%99s-maple-pecan-granola-with-dried-cherries-and-blueberries/

    Honey Pear Granola:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/michaels-honey-pear-granola-with-pistachios/

  7. (They “clump” too!)

Leave a Reply

