Pledge to Be Veg

The idea of going vegetarian has always been an idea that has floated through my head.  I just could never fathom the idea of giving up milk, ice cream, cheese, fish, etc.  However, lately I have been even more tempted to give vegetarianism a shot.

I was searching around on GoVeg.com and came across the Pledge to Be Veg for 30 Days.  I have decided that I am going to challenge myself to enter into the world of a vegetarian for at least 30 days.

In the long run, I just don’t think that I could live without salmon, crabs, ice cream, yogurt, milk, eggs, etc.  Rather, I believe that my life-style will be that of a Flexitarian–defined as an individual who primarily follows a plant-based diet but occasionally eat small amounts of meat, poultry or fish.

The other types of Vegetarians include:

  • Vegans: eat only plant-based foods. They don’t eat foods from animals, including meat, poultry, fish, milk, eggs and cheese.
  • Lacto-vegetarians: consume milk and milk products along with plant-based foods. They omit eggs as well as meat, fish and poultry.
  • Lacto-ovo vegetarians eat eggs, milk and milk products, such as cheese and yogurt, in addition to plant-based foods. They omit red meat, fish and poultry.
  • For this 30-day Challenge, I think I will fall between a Lacto-vegetarian and a Lacto-ovo Vegetarian.  By that I mean I will refrain completely from the following food items:

    • Meat
    • Fish
    • Poultry
    • Cow’s Milk (straight up)

    I will moderately consume:

    • Eggs
    • Dairy products that contain cow’s milk (yogurt, cheese, ice cream, etc.)

    I found a good source of advice from Katie about Omnivores who are interested in becoming Vegans/Vegetarians.  So if you are interested in joining me on this 30-Day challenge, Katie has a GREAT blog to get you us started!  She describes becoming a Vegan as “the best decision I have made in my life! I feel so much better, physically and mentally, have so much energy all the time, and am so happy with my life.” I will be curious to see if I notice any changes in my physical and mental self!

    Throughout this 30-Day Journey I will post different ideas and recipes to help us along through this experience!  I hope that you are thinking about joining me!  The official start date for my challenge will be Monday, January 25th (the same day Boston training begins!).  However, I have already begun making the transition.  With a start date of January 25th, the challenge will be completed on Tuesday, February 23rd.

    Are there any Vegetarians/Vegans out there who have any advice to share?  Did you notice any changes in yourself when  you became Veg?

    15 responses to “Pledge to Be Veg

    1. i like the idea of being a “flexitarian”. i definitely think it would be hard for me to commit 100% to a meat free life. any chance you’d be willing to write a post on your reasons behind your recent thoughts on the subject? i’m always interested to see where veggies / ppl contemplating it are coming from :)

    2. I can’t imagine giving up those things either. I love milk and yogurt and thats not even including meat. I make chicken a lot and absolutely love dishes you can make with it…just can’t imagine giving it up completely.

    3. My main advice would be to be very aware of your proteins. Don’t just use all processed meat substitutes (like veggie burgers and faux chicken strips). They will, however, make transitions easier. I do still use them, but try to be limited about relying on them. There are so many incredible recipes floating around and cookbooks that any meat-eater would enjoy. It’s not tofu and lettuce!! LOL. I can’t wait to hear about your journey.

    4. Woo! Good luck with this! No matter what the outcome, I’m sure you’ll learn a ton about yourself on the journey and that’ll be the most worth it part of the experience

    5. I will join in this challenge with you! I’ve been on the fence lately about becoming a vegetarian and this would be a great way for me to give it a test run!

      I will give up meat, fish, and poultry. I will still eat yogurt, eggs, milk and cheese.

      Can’t wait!

    6. Pingback: Pledge To Be Veg for 30 Days « Eat to Live, Live to Run

    7. I’ve been a vegetarian for about two years and recently decided to go vegan because dairy and eggs have been wreaking havoc on my insides. It’s been a month; I already feel so much better. I’m not sure I have much advice other than to say a little planning goes a long way, and being veg*n is a great way to get creative in the kitchen!

    8. I was a vegetarian for 6 months and it was the best I’ve ever felt. My husband is pretty much a carnivore so it was too difficult making meals together. I eventually just gave up.

    9. I’ve definitely tired being a vegetarian but I found it too hard for me, but I always admire people who do it for real tho!

    10. What a great challenge! I look forward to hearing how it goes!

    11. Good for you! I did it all and let me tell you your body shows such great definition and “toned” look once going vegan.

      Good luck!

      XXOO

    12. I was a vegetarian for 8 years and eventually had to “unbecome” one because I had really let my protein levels slide. My biggest piece of advice would be to track your protein, especially seeing as you are going to be a running machine!

    13. Pingback: 12 Weeks & Pledge to Be Veg « food, fit & fun

    14. how is the pledge to be veg coming along? id like to think of myself as a flexitarian ;)

    Leave a Reply

    