Philadelphia Marathon

Today was the Philadelphia Marathon.  I don’t think I could be any happier to say that it’s over.

The race could have gone so much worse for me, so it’s hard to be upset.

Before I go into my race, I’d like to CONGRATULATE MY SISTER, CHRISTINA.  She kicked a$$ and kicked my a$$!  She finished in 3:39:12…which is a Boston Qualifying time my friends!!!!  Amazing, amazing job…I couldn’t be happier.  She has come a long way since being injured last year and she is truly an amazing runner!  Way to go, Ti!

I came trudging in at 3:44:33.  As a reminder, last year I ran the Philly Marathon in 3:33:43 and I felt unstoppable…definitely felt like I could have gone for at least 30 miles instead of the 26.2 miles.  This year was a different story.  I struggled.

If you want to take a look at my splits, here they are:

Mile 1:  8:11           Mile 7: 7:53              Mile 13:   8:10               Mile 19:   8:43

Mile 2:  7:42          Mile 8: 8:25             Mile 14:   8:18                Mile 20:   8:41

Mile 3:  7:48         Mile 9:  7:48             Mile 15:   8:06               Mile 21:   8:47

Mile 4:  8:04       Mile 10:  8:10           Mile 16:   8:29               Mile 22:   9:03

Mile 5:  8:07        Mile 11:  7:58           Mile 17:   8:29                Mile 23:   9:20

Mile 6:  7:48        Mile 12:  8:05          Mile 18:   8:30               Mile 24:   9:46

Mile 25:   9:54

Mile 26:  9:41

Mile .2:  7:47

So, what do you notice??  Do you notice a dummy going out WAY, WAY, WAY too fast?  Because I do.  I would say that I began to struggle around Miles 16-18 and then Miles 19-26.2 were pretty much torture.

Many of my struggles would have been avoided if I had only made myself SLOW DOWN in the beginning of the race.  Unfortunately, I could not control myself.

During Miles 19-26.2 there were so many times when I wanted to quit.  By quit, I mean walk.  Everything hurt.  My foot that was injured earlier this fall was giving me problems in addition to my ankles.  I really need to spend time strengthening both of those.  My legs were also killing.  In particular my CALVES.  In the last few miles, my calves were cramping up.  That sure WAS NOT fun at all.  It actually KILLED.  I pressed on though and fought through the pain.  My hips also caused slight pain & my legs felt like lead–as I’m sure many people’s did.

Towards the end of the marathon, there were points where I just wanted to cry and believe me I did shed some tears.  I was just in so much pain.  I was the happiest person when I saw the finish line.  They moved the placement of the finish line so I was expecting it to come a lot sooner than it did…so I wasn’t a happy camper at first.

Well, now I know what it is like to struggle like hell through a marathon.  Although I was dieing during the race, I am glad that I never gave up.  I would have been pissed off at myself if I had to walk.  I proved a lot to myself out there today, so it’s hard to be upset with my race.

From mile 18-22 I was also dealing with stomach issues.  I could feel some bad things in my stomach, but I didn’t want to stop.  I wanted to keep going and deal with it at the end of the race.  Well, at around mile 22, I had no choice…to the porto-potty I went.  No fun at all.  Now I’ve been on the toilet for the majority of the day today.  I am in pain & want to cry.  Sorry for sharing these gross details with you, but does anyone ever get like this???

Now, a little break before beginning training for Boston.  Do I have it in me?

**Note: PICTURES TO COME!

15 responses to “Philadelphia Marathon

  1. AW mary thanks for the shout out! I love you!!!! you really pushed yourself today- I dont know you got through all of that pain and agony..blah. proves alot about your character as corny as that may or may not sound haha. and to answer your question- YES YOU HAVE IT IN YOU!

  2. You still did great 🙂

    You just ran a damn marathon and you have nothing to be ashamed of. Relish the moment and enjoy the high!

  3. You kicked butt! It might not be what you were hoping for, but still huge credit to you for what you did! Be proud 🙂

  4. you still were a bamf!! might not have been what you wanted but you are so strong and amazing. i can’t wait to meet you at boston 🙂

  5. Congrats on the run!!! You kicked some a$$ too. I mean come on you just ran a marathon! Way to go so proud of you both! WATCH OUT BOSTON THE PONZIO’S ARE ON THEIR WAY!!!

  6. I saw you finish !!! you did great, way to go !

  7. Still a fabulous time!! My first marathon was a lot like this one, so I know how hard those last miles can be. We learn little (or big) lessons at each race – congrats to you and Tina too!

  8. congrats girl on the marathon!!! be proud of yourself no matter what because you are part of the few people out there who can run 26.2 miles!! You are a fantastic runner!! so sad I couldnt be down to see you and Ti run it! and YES I know you have it in you to do Boston!!!! I will MOST DEF. be there to watch!!!! 🙂

  9. Listen, I can DEFINITELY relate to your racing story…this marathon just did not fall on your best day for running. but nonetheless, you finished, stayed strong, and overall, actually really did have an AWESOME time 🙂

  10. Therese!!!!!!!!!!

    Hey Mare!!

    First of all, AWESOME JOB!!!! i still can’t get over the fact that both of you ran for almost 4 hours straight. I was on the treadmill the other day and i ran 3.5 miles with walking-running intervals and i felt like i was going to die! hahaha you guys on the other hand, 26.2 miles?!!! thats so crazy!!!!!
    Second, im sorry to hear that you were in so much pain, that must have have been really hard. but you pushed through and you finished and you did not quit and that is soo admirable and says so much about your character. way to go!!

    Third, you DEFINITELY have it in you to do boston!!who are you kidding?! dont even doubt that for a second!

    Hope you guys have a great thanksgiving!!! Congrats again!

  11. Congrats on the race!
    It was a great day for a marathon.
    I, like yourself, went out way too fast. I was with the 3:40 group, and they were clicking off miles under 8, in the begining.

  12. CONGRATULATIONS! i cant believe how fast and fabulous you and your sister are! that is an amazing accomplishment, and i am so happy for you!

  13. you should be so incredibly proud of yourself for finishing! Yeah, you may not have come in at the time you wanted, but you WERE fast and you finished even while going through pain. You pulled through! Congratulations to you and your sister!

  14. Major congrats!! This is a HUGE accomplishment! I completed my first half over Thanksgiving, and I am pretty much in awe of anyone who can run the full thing 🙂

  15. Pingback: Boston Marathon Training « food, fit & fun

Leave a Reply

