Lemon-Rosemary Roasted Chicken

This weekend, I watched my dog when my parents were away.  I brought her over to Todd’s house to meet his dog, Brady.

(from the left) Brady & Andie.

They were so cute together!  Brady did not like Andie being in his house at first but then they became buddies!

Andie looking scared of Brady.

Tonight when I went to bring my dog back to my parent’s house, I made them a nice dinner when they arrived home!

With all of the cooking that I do, you would think that I would have roasted a chicken before.  Surprisingly enough, I haven’t!  Tonight, I picked up Perdue Oven-Stuffer Chicken–all clean and ready to go! 

Easy Roasted Chicken

  • 1 Chicken (I used Perdue Over-Stuffer Chicken)
  • minced garlic
  • 3 sprigs of fresh rosemary, roughly chopped
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • Fresh lemon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Before cooking, remove giblets  (I wasn’t quite sure what this was, but turns out it was a bag of stuff inside the cavity of the chicken).  Place chicken in roasted pan.  In a seperate small bowl, mix olive oil, garlic, rosemary, salt, & pepper.  Rub mixture all over chicken.  Squirt lemon juice over chicken.  Stuff chunks of lemon inside cavity of chicken.  Pour about a half a cup of water into roasting pan and place in oven.  Refer to the cooking time on your chicken.  Mine was around 7 pounds so it took about 2 hours to cook.  The great thing about these oven stuffers is that it has a built in pin and it pops up when the chicken has reached the right temperature!  So no guess work here!

Along with the roasted chicken, I made Roasted Carrots.

For the Roasted Carrots…

These are so easy to make and so tasty!  Roasting the carrots really brings out the sweetness in them.   The carrots shrink up when you roast them so overestimate the amount of carrots you make!

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Peel carrots and cut into chunks.  Place on baking sheet and toss with a little olive oil, salt, and pepper (I leave out pepper because I’m not a big fan).  Roast for about a half an hour…you’ll know when they’re done. 

I also made Baked Potatoes.  I made these special this time and roasted them at 400 degrees, rubbed with a little olive oil and kosher salt.  I just love when I order baked potatoes at steakhouses when they coat the outside of the baked potatoes with salt.  So delicious! 

I also served this meal with some chunky applesauce and broccoli.  I have a great recipe for homemade applesauce that I need to make again soon.  Tonight we just had Musselman’s Chunky which is actually pretty tasty!   This was a great, wholesome meal.

Have a good night! 🙂

5 responses to “Lemon-Rosemary Roasted Chicken

  1. awww the dogs are so adorable! and i’m 100% serious about you trekking up to new england to make me some of this food 😉

  2. chicken looks DELICIOUS!!!!!!!

    Andieeeeeeeee. i miss your doggg! and you!

  3. yum that sounds like the perfect dinner…did mom and dad enjoy?

  4. Haha– I love that first picture! Too cute 🙂

    Those roasted carrots look delicious!

  5. Oh that chicken looks great!

Leave a Reply

