Make your own Applesauce

I have a recipe in my recipe box for  homemade applesauce that I  have not made in years.  I rememebered it being delicious so I decided to make it to go along with the dinner I made for Todd last night.  Applesauce is so simple & quick to make.  It’s really worth making.

Not the best picture, but I was in a rush to eat it!

Homemade Applesauce

Serves ~4-5

  • 5 Apples–peeled, cored, and chopped (I used a mix of Braeburn & Honey Crispy; really anything you have one hand)
  • little less than a 1/4 cup of sugar
  • cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup water

Add apples, sugar, cinnamon, and water to a medium saucepan.  Cook with lid on over medium-heat for 15-20 minutes, or until the apples soften.  Take off heat and mash the mixture with a potato masher or fork.  You can play with the consistency of your applesauce here, I love chunky applesauce so I like to keep mine fairly chunky.

10 responses to “Make your own Applesauce

  1. i feel like i’m so ignorant of making my own foods. this looks sooo easy, i’m a bit ashamed that i haven’t 😛

  2. yum looks so good!! I only have brown sugar here…would that work?

  3. check out my guest post by the way- meg did a really nice one on intervals- I am going to try them out on saturday or sunday 🙂

  4. Looks good and I am not even a fan of apple sauce! I would rather just eat an apple lol.

  5. I usually only use applesauce in my baking recipes! I could see myself making applesauce just to bake with though 🙂

  6. oh i’ve never tried doing this before but great idea!

  7. ummm im waiting for a sweet pot ricotta penne, granola, and waffle update!!!

  8. haha that is so funny well I am making “sloppy joe” on tuesday- http://healthysandiegoliving.com/?p=1713
    but then I was watching rachy ray today and she made veggie sloppy joes using mushroom so I am going to sub the mushrooms in for the ground turkey- saves me money too! my camera charger died and its at home so I will have to take picture with my phone or maybe ill use kelly’s camera. hopefully it turns out good! also we gotta try the pepper thing over break: http://mamasweeds.com/2009/03/30/quinoa-stuffed-peppers/
    and alsooo I am very interested to see if you liked the whole wheat penne dish- im nervous i feel like you didnt like it becasue if you liked it you would have told me haha

  9. Yum! I love, love, love homemade chunky applesauce!

Leave a Reply

