Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

First I just wanted to direct you over to my sister’s blog to see her post on different yoga poses.

Next, I want to announce a soup giveaway on Stef’s blog.  Head on over there and enter to win!

Lastly, eat more love is having a Oikos Greek Yogurt Giveaway, so head over there to check it out!

Now finally, the Quinoa Stuffed Peppers!  My sister and I first saw this recipe on Alison’s blog, Mama’s Weeds.

 This recipe is a keeper.  Perfect for a light dinner…even better, you can pack the leftovers for lunch the next day!  I absolutely loved it.  Next time I make this I will use fresh baby spinach instead of frozen chopped spinach.  For some reason, frozen spinach tastes funny to me.  Also, I had some extra filling…I guess it will depend on the size of your peppers!

 

Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

1 Tbs olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
1/2 Tbsp ground cumin
1 clove minced garlic
5 oz frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry (I used 10 oz)
1 15oz can diced tomatoes, drained, liquid reserved
7 oz canned black beans, rinsed and drained
1/3 + cup quinoa, rinsed
2 medium carrots, grate
1 c vegetable broth
3/4 c pepper jack cheese, grated, divided
2 large red bell peppers, halved lengthwise, ribs and seeds removed

Saute onion in EVOO until soft.  Add cumin and garlic, saute about 1 min.  Stir in spinach and drained tomatoes.  Cook about 5 minutes or until all the liquid has cooked off.  Stir in black beans, quinoa, carrots and vegetable broth. 

Cover, bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium-low, simmer 20 minutes or until quinoa is tender.  Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350.  Pour reserved liquid from tomatoes into bottom of baking dish.  When quinoa mixture is done, stir in 1/2 c cheese.  Fill each pepper half with a quarter of the quinoa mixture and place in baking dish. 

Cover with foil and bake for 1 hour (I baked for 45 minutes because I became impatient).  Uncover, sprinkle each pepper with remaining cheese and bake 15 minutes more, until tops are browned.  Let stand 5 minutes, drizzle each with pan juices before serving.

The red pepper sort of changed yellow!

8 responses to “Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

  1. yummy you should make your photos bigger so people can see the beauty of the pepper haha

  2. YUM!!! I’ve never tried stuffed peppers but must – I imagine they’d be good with ground turkey or something too right?!!! Love your photos, and thanks for the LINK girl!! 🙂

  3. yum! every once in awhile my mom will make these and every time i’m like “why don’t i eat this more?” hah

  4. YUM! these peppers sound incredible!

  5. I have yet to stuff peppers before…I love the use of quinoa, and of course that cheesy topping!

  6. Peppers look so GOOD! Thanks for announcing my giveaway!

  7. I love quinoa and peppers…I will have to try this one soon!

Leave a Reply

