Boston Marathon Training

Boston Here I Come!

January 25th marks the first day of training for the 2010 Boston Marathon.  I am surprisingly really excited to jump back into Marathon Training.  Boston will be my third marathon…I ran Philadelphia for the past 2 years.  Unfortunately, this year the Philadelphia Marathon did not go as smoothly as I would have liked.  I am almost thankful for that race though.  It was ridiculously challenging and I learned a TON from that race.  However, I do not hope to repeat that performance for Boston.  I’d much rather repeat my performance from my first marathon!  For Boston I have decided to follow Hal Higdon’s 12-week Boston Bound Training Plan

Although I am very excited, I do know that training for Boston will be an even bigger challenge than training for my past marathons.  It is very tough to balance life, school, & training among other things…but I enjoy the challenge.  Also, I have never run this much in my life.  I know some of you are crazy and take a rest day once every two months…but that is certainly not me.  I love rest days.  So seeing that this plan has only one rest day a week…this will certainly be a challenge.  I do plan to listen to my body and respond appropriately when necessary.

Take a look at the plan:

Week
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
3 mile run easy
3 x hill, 1 down
3 mile run easy
5 mile run Tempo
Rest
6 miles pace
1:20, 3/1
2
4 mile run easy
4 x 800, 400 jog
4 mile run easy
7 mile run Tempo
Rest
7 miles pace
14 mile run easy
3
4 mile run easy
4 x hill, 1 down
4 mile run easy
7 mile run easy
Rest
7 miles easy
1:30, 3/1
4
4 mile run easy
5 x 800, 400 jog
4 mile run easy
5 mile run easy
Rest
7 miles pace
16 mile run easy
5
4 mile run easy
5 x hill, 2 down
4 mile run easy
8 mile run tempo
Rest
5-K race
1:40, 3/1
6
5 mile run easy
6 x 800, 400 jog
5 mile run easy
8 mile run easy
Rest
8 miles pace
18 mile run easy
7
5 mile run easy
6 x hill, 2 down
5 mile run easy
5 mile run Tempo
Rest
10-K race
1:50, 3/1
8
5 mile run easy
7 x 800, 400 jog
5 mile run easy
8 mile run easy
Rest
5 miles easy
20 mile run easy
9
5 mile run easy
7 x hill, 3 down
5 mile run easy
5 mile run easy
Rest
Half Marathon
2:00, 3/1
10
5 mile run easy
8 x 800, 400 jog
5 mile run easy
8 mile run easy
Rest
5 miles pace
20 mile run easy
11
5 mile run easy
8 x hill, 3 down
5 mile run easy
6 mile run Tempo
Rest
4 miles pace
12 mile run easy
12
5 mile run easy
4 x 800, 400 jog
3 mile run easy
4 mile run easy
Rest
Rest
2 mile run easy
13
Boston Marathon
         

After the Philadelphia Marathon, I ended my post asking if I had it in me to train for Boston.  Now, I know, I do.  Less than a week away until training officially begins!

I have two awesome giveaways to share with you:

**Head on over to The Tasty Life where she is having an amazing giveaway!

**Chocolate Covered Katie is giving away a Vita-mix…head over here to enter!

16 responses to “Boston Marathon Training

  1. You are going to rock Boston!

  2. WOW! Good luck! Can’t wait to follow along with your progress– you’re going to do great!

  3. You will do awesome!

    That schedule doesn’t look too bad. Just make sure you are training smart and you will be fine. Good luck!

  4. youre going to rock this thang! i was going to follow that plan but then got impatient to start training haha! gahh i’m getting so pumped reading this 🙂

  5. first off thank you so much for the shout out to my cousins blog YAY!!! i am so psyched for you trianing for the marathon! that is so amazing! I cant wait to follow your training! and then come cheer you on because DUHHH I am a beantowner 🙂

  6. hey mary!!! im so excited for you!!!! wish i could join you in this plan but I do think it was the for the best that i didnt get in. question- what does things like 3x hill mean??

  7. also i wanna do a half marathon or that 10 mile run in philly- how do i go about training any ideas?

  8. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    i totally admire your marathoning- i’m definitely NOT a runner! enjoy your training, sounds challenging but it’ll pay off when you do boston!

  9. Looks like a great plan!! Good luck with the training, you’ll do great!

  10. Thats awesome – my boyfriend is also following Hal Higdon’s Marathon Plan except he is doing the Advanced level…he is also training for Boston. He is hoping to break 2:50 so we will see…

    Hal Higdon’s plans really do work though if you follow them consistently. Good luck!

  11. Good luck! I used to cheer on the runners at the Boston Marathon – it was such a fun experience even being on the sidelines!

  12. Oh can’t follow to follow your progress – you rock girl! I’m insanely jealous….why can’t I physically run and where, oh where has my desire and renewed passion gone…sucks …but I’m not raining on your parade. How did you decide on the right plan anyhow ? seems like soooo many to choose from!!

  13. hey mary, thats great that you are following the boston-bound plan, so am i! it will be neat to follow each others’ progress. get excited for a great marathon! 🙂

  14. Pingback: Pledge to Be Veg « food, fit & fun

  15. Pingback: 12 Weeks & Pledge to Be Veg « food, fit & fun

  16. Pingback: Barley Vegetable Soup « food, fit & fun

Leave a Reply

