Hot, Hot, Hot!

…and I’m not talking about the weather!  I wish.  I am actually talking about a new Veggie Chili recipe that I tried out tonight.  I am a huge fan of hearty veggie chilis and I love experimenting with different recipes.  This is by far the SPICIEST Veggie Chili I have ever made and ate…and possibly the most colorful! 

I found this recipe in a recent Food & Wine magazine…it was actually featured on the cover.

Winter Vegetable Chili    

serves 4.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil (I used Canola)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 medium garlic cloves, very finely chopped
  • 1 large red bell pepper, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/2 pound parsnips, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/2 pound carrots, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1 tablespoon chile powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • Salt
  • One 14-ounce can peeled Italian tomatoes
  • 1 canned chipotle in adobo, plus 1 tablespoon adobo sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 cup canned hominy, drained
  • 1 cup canned red kidney beans, drained
  • Brown rice, chopped red onions, cilantro, sour cream and tortilla chips or bread toasts, for serving
  •  

    Directions

    1. In a medium, heavy enameled cast-iron casserole or Dutch oven, heat the oil. Add the onion and garlic and cook over high heat, stirring, until slightly softened, about 3 minutes. Add the bell pepper, parsnips and carrots and cook, stirring occasionally, until lightly browned in spots, about 5 minutes. Stir in the chile powder and cumin and season with salt. Cook for 1 minute.
    2. In a blender, puree the tomatoes and their juices with the chipotle, adobo sauce and water until very smooth. Add the mixture to the casserole along with the hominy and beans and bring to a boil. Cover partially and simmer the chili over moderate heat until the vegetables are tender, about 20 minutes. Season with salt. Serve with rice, red onions, cilantro, sour cream and chips.

    This is actually really quick and easy to make.  If you are a fan of heat, you have to try this recipe.  If you want to cool it off a bit, I’d suggest adding less Chili Powder and maybe even avoid the chipotle pepper (oops, I added 2!).

    I served mine over sticky brown rice (my favorite).  I topped it with avocado (which helped cool it off a bit), cilantro, and crushed blue corn chips.  Delicious!

    **Just a reminder, the last day of my Pledge to Be Veg is this Tuesday!**

     

    7 responses to “Hot, Hot, Hot!

    1. that looks so good! your pictures came out fantasticcccc…..youll have to make this for me at home…but first can you make me pasta e ceci? maybe ill come over to philly one day and we run and make food and then we can get yogorino?

    2. ooo that looks GREAAAT! i want to have some chili asap!

    3. I am not a fan of spicy foods! I will have to try that but I will make it less spicy becaue I am a wimp 😉

    4. Pingback: Fig Almond Blondies « Mindful Living

    5. YUM. I love chili. I found a recipe using butternut squash and black beans that’s awesome. Need to try this one. I love spicy foods!

    6. looks good. and i wish it was hot hot hot out!!

    7. That’s a very pretty bowl of veggie wonder. Hope your Veg Pledge has been rewarding in some way, shape, or form!

    Leave a Reply

    