Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Bread is definitely one of my favorite foods.  Last year I found this recipe  for Whole Wheat Banana Bread.  This recipe comes out really great.  I really love this bread with a spread of peanut butter.

Whole Wheat Banana Bread (Makes 2 Loaves)

Ingredients:

4 medium, ripe bananas (mashed)

1 cup Plain non-fat yogurt (I used Stonyfield)

1 egg

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 cup raisins

2 1/2 cups Whole Wheat Flour

1 tsp Baking Soda

1 tsp Salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp nutmeg

Directions:

1)  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2) spray loaf pans (8.5 x 4.5 x 2.5)

3) Mix dry ingredients in one bowl and wet ingredients in a separate bowl.

4) Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir until blended. (Do not over mix)

5) Bake for 50 minutes

6) Cool in pans on wire rack for 5-8 minutes.

7) Remove from pans and cool completely.

ENJOY….

What is your favorite type of bread?  What recipe do you normally follow for banana bread?

It’s pretty hard to name my favorite type of bread.  I love it all….multigrain, whole wheat, banana, pumpkin, raisin-walnut… to name a few.

11 responses to “Whole Wheat Banana Bread

  1. I love bread too! I am totally going to make that recipe 🙂

  2. YUM. I love banana bread for a sweet treat. For regular bread I love cibatta.

  3. ah that banana bread is addicting!! yum yum

  4. From Party To Hearty

    Whole wheat banana bread is my favorite! Any recipe I follow though, I nearly double the naners for extra moistness! Then goes on the nut buttas!

  5. yum, that bread looks delicious!

  6. I have never tried whole wheat banana bread-but I am definitely a banana bread fan..and this healthy alternative sounds WONDERFUL 🙂

  7. Pumpkin bread is my favorite! I love bananas, but don’t like when bananas are IN anything. Weird, I know.

  8. I LOVE this recipe! I posted a bit ago a banana bread and muffins I made…but I have more bananas here now…because I ate the other loaves in like 2 days…:(…I know not cool….uh, maybe i shouldn’t make another one…

  9. I like… pumpkin bread with raisins!

  10. Your banana bread looks delicious! Ever since I was younger, I would always make my banana bread with chocolate chips on one half and plain on the other half! My mom, sister, and I ALWAYS ate the chocolate chip half, but my dad was never a chocolate chip fan 🙂 This way, everyone could enjoy a little banana bread!

  11. I use a similar recipe. Try vanilla yogurt!

Leave a Reply

