Grain Lovin’

I wasn’t too sure what to make for dinner tonight.  For some reason, I was craving grains & sweet potatoes.  So I decided to create a grain & veggie dish.  I love meals like this but I hardly ever make them.

I used a combination of Pearled Barley, Medium Grain Brown Rice, and Bulgur Wheat.  I cooked the Pearled Barley in Chicken Broth instead of the usual water and it really gave the barley an AWESOME taste.  It smelled awesome cooking on the stove too.  I highly recommend trying this out!  It will work great with rice and any other grain you are cookin’ up.

I preheated the oven to 400 degrees.  I chopped the parsnip and sweet potato and tossed them in olive oil, kosher salt, rosemary, thyme, and sage.  I  also sliced red onion and added it to the baking sheet.  Cook for about a 1/2 hour.

Meanwhile, cook all your grains on the stovetop.  Once cooked, combine all of the grains in a bowl and top with sweet potato mixture.  Add olive oil and mix.  I also added some chickpeas which I toasted up in a pan with olive oil.

I made quite a lot, but that’s okay…it will make good leftovers!

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Grain Lovin’

  1. I love pearled Barley! So chewy and delicious! Thanks for sharing!

  2. this looks really cool!! i like one dish meals like this, too!!!

Leave a Reply

