Boston Marathon: Part 1

I can’t believe the Boston Marathon is over!  I have been looking forward to this for a long time and it just doesn’t seem possible!  Since I have so much to say about the marathon, I’m going to do a series of posts.  I won’t leave you hanging on my results though!  If you haven’t already ready my sister’s sweet post, I will tell you that I finished in 3:37:22 and I was very happy with my results!  I will do a full race recap another time.  For now, I’ll start with the Boston Marathon Expo!

Todd & I flew into Boston early Saturday morning.  When we arrived to Boston, we went right to the Expo to pick up my bib number and explore!  This Expo was awesome!  It was huge, so many people were there, and a ton of vendors.  Most importantly, there were some great food samples!!

Then there were some treadmill runners….Adidas must have this new personal training program for running…not really sure what it is all about…

check out Todd in the yellow shirt in the background! haha

Gatorade was doing some oxygen testing…

Gatorade also had a bunch of free samples.  They have a new line of drinks…some designed for pre-workout and post-workout.  After the marathon they actually handed everyone a post-workout drink (with protein).

Of course Larabar was there.  We took a bit too many samples, but that’s okay!  haha.  I was sort of disappointed because they only had 2 flavors: the Tropical one and Peanut Butter–both of which I’m not too crazy about!   We also got these cool “I ❤ Larabars” stickers.  I took a LOT of them.  They’re pretty awesome.

Todd on the escalator on our way out…(he’s wearing my cool new Boston Marathon book bag that he bought me!)

my new bag!

I really had a good time at the Expo.  We actually ended up going back on Sunday because I wanted to show my parents (they arrived late Saturday night).  I think going to the expo really gets you ready for all of the excitement of the Marathon…if that makes any sense!

There were three food samples that I had that were awesome:

  • Fage Yogurt with choice of topping (Honey/Strawberry/Pineapple?)  I tried the honey one a couple of times and had a bite of Todd’s when he got the strawberry topping.  Both were amazing but I preferred the honey.  I’ve had Fage before, but I always buy the 0%.  The full fat version is definitely much better.  It was so thick too.
  • Luna Protein Bar–Luna Bars came out with Luna Protein Bars.  I’ve been wanting to try these so I was excited when I saw that they were sampling them.  I LOVED the Cookie Dough flavor.  I took about 10 samples!
  • Bolthouse Juice Mocha Cappuccino.  I loved this drink so much!  Bolthouse makes a bunch of fruit juices so I decided to try this one because it was a little different.  So glad I did because I will be buying this from now on!  After reading about this flavor on their website, I think that this would make a perfect post-workout drink!

We had a really good time at the Expo and then we ventured out for lunch.  Every time Todd’s family goes to Boston, they go to this famous pizza place that has been around for years, Galleria Umberto.  They sell pizza by the slice.

We each got 2 slices and Todd also got an Arancini (which is a rice ball filled with something similar to beef stew).  Arancini’s aren’t up my alley but I did try some of the rice part and that was good… haha.

Afterwards, we walked down the street in the pouring rain (yes it rained all day Saturday and most of Sunday–thank god it cleared for monday!!) to Modern Pastry–another famous eatery that has been around for a long time.  We got a canoli and some fig cookies.

Stay tuned for Boston Part 2 !!!

8 responses to “Boston Marathon: Part 1

  1. BIG CONGRATS!!!! Very exciting!

  2. that bookbag is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. What a wonderful accomplishment! Can’t wait to hear more. 🙂

  4. woooooot! congrats girl 🙂 i can’t believe it’s over either! totally went by way too freaking fast

  5. I feel like an idiot, but we totally met at the start! I must have been dazed and confused and halfway through I thought…”wait…I KNOW MARY.” Haha. Oh well. Next time! Awesome race!!

  6. GREAT JOB MARY!!!!!! you kicked butt!!

  7. Congratulations, Mary! You did awesome!!

  8. Eeeee GREAT JOB!! So happy for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

