Boston Marathon: Part 2

For those of you who do not know, the Boston Marathon begins in a little town outside of Boston called Hopkinton.  Lots of people who run the marathon, stay at a hotel in Boston.  Marathon morning, they all load onto school buses early in the morning and head out to Hopkinton.  I did not feel like sitting on the bus for more than an hour at 5:45/6:00 in the morning (the marathon does not begin until 10:00/10:30–depending upon your wave).  Therefore, Todd & I stayed in Milford, a town right next to Hopkinton.  This worked out to be a great decision.  There were lots of other runners that decided to do the same thing.  The hotel even had a shuttle to take the runners to the start!

After the expo on Saturday, Todd & I were pretty beat from traveling and walking around so we went to the hotel to check-in and take a nap.  After napping, we went to Sports Authority to buy cheap, warm clothes to wear over top of my race clothes to stay warm before the race.  I forgot to bring old clothes from home and I didn’t really want to potentially throw away anything I packed with me.  I ended up finding some sweats and a sweat jacket on sale so it worked out perfect.  Afterwards, we decided to keep it low key and we hit up a Whole Foods for dinner which was obviously delicious.  I also bought some bananas and some other things!  When we got back we both fell asleep around 11:00 maybe?

Sunday morning, Todd & I woke up and I did a 2 mile treadmill run and Todd went on the elliptical.  We then showered and had breakfast at our hotel.  After breakfast, we relaxed and packed up our bags so we wouldn’t have to do it later that night.  In the afternoon we headed back to Boston to meet my parents who were staying close to the finish line.  We walked around some stores with them and then went back to the Expo.  Afterwards, we went back to their hotel to lay down for a bit and then it was time for dinner!  Oh yea, today we also took Finish Line photos

My Mom, Todd, & I

My Mom, Todd, & I

My parents & I!

My Parents & I

Now onto my pre-race dinner…

I am so glad I thought ahead and made reservations because we saw lots of people searching for places to eat.  Our reservation was for 6:00 which worked out perfect.  I don’t know how I came across this restaurant, but let me tell you, it was AWESOME.  We went to Piattini on Newbury Street.  I will most certainly be eating here next year for the marathon.

First, they gave us a HUGE basket of big, crusty, airy bread.  I love bread and easily had 4 slices….helllllllo carbs!

To start, I ordered a great salad, The Almond SaladBaby spinach, mesclun, Gorgonzola cheese toasted almonds, granny smith apple,tarragon vinaigrette.

I also had some of Todd’s Caprese Salad–Tomatoes, Mozzarella, Olive Oil, & Basil. Forgot to take a picture!

For the table we got some Ravioli’s in a meat sauce to share.

For my entree, I ordered the Fussilli alle Vedure--Fresh whole wheat pasta, roasted vegetable ragout. The serving size was pretty large and I ate it all up!  Had to get my fuel for the marathon!  I loved how the pasta was homemade, the pasta didn’t have the same shape as your typical fussilli pasta!  Absolutely delicious.  The waiter also grated some fresh parmesan cheese on top which made it even tastier.

My Dad ordered the Tortelloni di Funghi–Wild mushroom tortelloni, marsala wine sauce, fresh mushrooms.  I tasted this and let me tell you, it was amazing.  It had a sort of sweet taste to it which I think came from the marsala wine sauce.  I need to recreate this!

Todd & my Mom ordered the same thing, Vitello ai Funghi–Tender milk fed veal, shitake and porcini mushrooms, asparagus, mushroom demi glaze. I handed the camera to my Mom to take a picture, she thought she took a picture but she didn’t…hahaha.  I didn’t taste this but they said it was awesome as well!

We finished dinner with tea/coffee and dessert.  Todd & I split Tiramisu…one of my favorite desserts.  Good thing we split it because this baby was HUGE…but heavenly! haha.

Hello Mom….

Dad….

Yes!  Your eyes are open!

and Todd….

haha.  Not only was the food delicious, but the restaurant was situated sort of underneath a building.  It was a small, quiet restaurant with a friendly staff.  Will definitely be returning!!

Check back tomorrow for Boston: Part 3 (race recap!)…

I accidently zipped my jacket up to my north face fleece instead of my jacket…hahaa. I thought it was funny.

5 responses to “Boston Marathon: Part 2

  1. smart call not staying in the city! i’m getting all excited about the whole boston experience reading these recaps. you’re going to make us wait until tomorrow for the race recap?! how mean :P

  2. Definitely sounds like you made the right choice not staying in the city, an hour bus ride that early in the morning does NOT sound fun!
    I LOVE Newbury Street, they have some awesome restaurants. I’ve never been to that one but I may have to look into it, looks delicious!

  3. liking the updates so far! that place looks…. great (perhaps we will hit up for for next year’s pre-marathon dinner)! dad looks like a happy little boy in that photo haah

  4. can’t wait to read the race recap!

    Post pictures of your dogs! I’m obsessed with cavaliers and think they are the best breeds ever. my dog turned 1 in february and she’s a total lap dog/snuggler.

  5. Man your pre-race dinner looks and sounds so much better than mine. I need to remember that place for next year and well maybe some other time I venture into Boston. Sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

