…it’s not the end of my love.

This morning as I was eating breakfast, I was on CNN.com and I saw an interesting link, “Death at 25: Blogging the end of a life“.  I’m not sure if anyone has heard about this, so I thought I would write a post for those of you who are interested.  A few words of warning: This is not a happy story.

A 25 year old girl named Eva Markvoort from Vancouver, Canada started a blog in 2006 because she was hospitalized from Cystic Fibrosis.  At this point, she was isolated because of the infection, so she sought to communicate through the internet.  She was on the road to becoming an actress but could sadly not pursue that dream because of her health.  She fought long and hard and received a double lung transplant.  She seemed to be recovering but less than two years later her body began rejecting the organs.

Eva documented her life through her blog, 65 Red Roses.  She wrote beautiful poems and other thoughts on her blog.  If you get the chance, it is really worth clicking back through all of her previous posts.  I am truly amazed at how talented she was.  I recommend watching the video she posted on February 11, 2010.  I cannot believe how strong and positive Eva was.  It is truly amazing.  I will leave you with one of the last poems I see written on her blog…I thought it was beautiful…

i can’t breath

i’m at that point now
i’m done with the poetics
asking for help
my sister is helping me write
actually helping me write

the medications have been piling up
they are taking their toll
i am supersaturated with medications
i’ve been medically missing in action for two days
the docs started taking me off some of them to see how i would manage

and i am not managing
not managing at all

i’m drowning in the medications

i can’t breathe

every hour
once an hour

i can’t breathe

something has to change


2 responses to “…it’s not the end of my love.

  1. Oh my…. definitely got me all teared up. What an amazing person at just 26….. everyone can learn a lot from her. Love is powerful.

  2. this is very very sad. thanks for sharing. death is a strange and distant thing.

Leave a Reply

