12 Weeks & Pledge to Be Veg

Well, there are officially 12 weeks until the Boston Marathon.  That also means that I begin training TODAY!  Today also marks the start of the Pledge to Be Veg 30-Day Challenge.  As I said before, for 30 days I will:

…refrain completely from the following food items:

  • Meat
  • Fish
  • Poultry

…I will moderately consume:

  • Eggs
  • Dairy products  (milk, yogurt, cheese, ice cream, etc.)

Yes, I did make a slight change.  Before I said that I would not consume cow’s milk at all, but now I decided that I would moderately consume it.  I am really looking forward to this challenge to see if the change in my eating style will have a positive effect on me.  I was glad to see that some of my readers will be joining me through this 30-day challenge!  

Last night for dinner, I made homemade pizza.  Pizza is no doubt about it one of my favorite meals.  It had been a while since I had made my own pizza so I was very excited.  For the dough, I use Jenna’s recipe.  She uses part whole-wheat and part white flour.  It’s the best dough that I have tried thus far.  

For the sauce, I make my own sauce.  The recipe that I have posted  on my blog is for pasta sauce.  The only difference is that I will add Oregano for pizza sauce.

My favorite combination is Broccoli, Spinach, Tomato Sauce, Mozzarella, & Parmesan.  So good…and in my mind, healthy!

So here is the process of making the pizza:

  • Make the dough.
  • Make the Sauce.
  • Roll the dough out.
  • Preheat oven to 500 degrees.
  • Place Pizza dough onto Pizza Stone dusted with corn meal in preheated oven.
  • Cook for a few minutes & remove from oven.  
  • Place tomato sauce, cheese, and toppings of choice on dough.
  • Place back into oven and cook until crispy!  This does not take long at all…less than 10 minutes.

Along with the pizza, I made one of my favorite salads…Baby Spinach, Candied Pecans, Pink Lady Apples &  Feta Cheese tossed in a mixture of Balsamic Vinegar, Olive Oil, and Salt & Pepper.

 The perfect dinner!

I will also give you the recipe for the Candied Pecans.  You can find them pre-packaged in your food store but there are so many added ingredients that you might as well just make them yourself!  They are so simple to make.  

Candied Pecans

  • Sugar
  • Pecans
  • Salt

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Place pecans on a baking sheet and toast for 5-10 minutes making sure not to burn them.  Put about a 1/4 of a cup of sugar in a pan and cook over medium heat stirring frequently.  When the sugar begins to melt dump the pecans into the pan and stir until melted sugar is evenly distributed.  Pour on a plate and allow to cool.

*Note:  Unfortunately, I did not take pictures (except for pecans), so these pictures are from when I made this same meal back in the summer!

11 responses to “12 Weeks & Pledge to Be Veg

  1. Yay for VEG challenge!!! And for marathon training– you’re going to rock it!

  2. Oh that pizza looks great! Congrats on the start of training!

  3. Good looking pie! Can I come over for dinner?

  4. yay for t-12 weeks! i have a countdown on my phone so whenever i open it i can see how close we are 🙂

  5. yayyy for training!!! I cant wait to watch u run the marathon!! 🙂 and good luck with ur 30 day challenge.

  6. great work on the training! yay boston marathon! I will come cheer you on around heartbreak hill(right near where I live!!) as for your Q on my blog about HR monitors, as far as I know you have to wear a strap around your chest, because this is what detects heart rate. Without the strap, I don’t know how the HR would be detected. And with the greek yogurt, oh I do stir it ALOT! just right when you open it on the Fage kind, there is a parchment paper with lots of that water on top…just annoying thats all!

    have a great morning 🙂

  7. Best of luck starting your training journey. That is so exciting. I hope you enjoy being veg, too!

  8. I gave up meat for Lent (40 days) once and it wasn’t bad at home, but it was hard when I was a dinner guest and going to restaurants. Good luck!

  9. Pingback: Barley Vegetable Soup « food, fit & fun

  10. Pingback: grilled lime and sweet potatoes « Mindful Living

Leave a comment